Created by: Keegan McKoskey

Knowing the difference between the levels of mental health helps educate people on the language they use.

Take the quiz below - Place the right feelings/emotions into the correct level.

Created by: Keegan McKoskey

There are four levels of mental health: Mental Health Disorder/Illness, a Mental Health Condition, Mental Distress and No Distress, Problem, or Disorder.

A Mental Health Disorder/Illness refers to a clinically diagnosed illness by a professional health care provider. Examples could be: Depression, Panic Disorder, or Bipolar Disorder.

A Mental Health Condition refers to a reaction we may have to a life challenge. These are not Mental Health Disorders as they do not require a diagnosis or medical treatment. Examples could be: moving to a new country, losing a loved one or going through a divorce.

Mental Distress is the common response to the stressors of everyday life. It is a normal feeling that is expected and happens to everyone. Examples could include taking an exam, having an argument, or failing at a task.

No Distress, Problem or Disorder has no display upon the three levels of mental health.

Written by: Keegan McKoskey


Cabrini University
  • Cabrini University

  • cabrinicomdept@gmail.com